Gluten-Free Diet

Gluten-Free Diet2016-12-01T11:23:29+00:00

Gluten-Free Diet

A gluten-free diet is most commonly used as a treatment for celiac disease, also known as celiac sprue or gluten-sensitive enteropathy. For more information on celiac disease, please visit our health library.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and certain oats (WBRO). Below is a list of foods and guidelines to help ensure you are adhering to a gluten-free diet. Read food labels carefully.

Do not eat anything that contains the following grains:

Wheat, Rye, or Barley

The following can be eaten in any amount:

  • Corn
  • Amaranth
  • Potato
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Distilled white vinegar
  • Malt vinegar
  • Soybeans
  • Tapioca
  • Arrowroot
  • Carob
  • Buckwheat
  • Millet

Grains are used in the processing of many ingredients, so it will be necessary to seek out hidden gluten. In addition, although some grains are able to be eaten by patients with celiac disease, it is important to realize that some foods may be processed in factories that may also process gluten and therefore cross-contamination may occur.

There are now several companies that produce gluten-free products, both at local grocers as well as online, in addition to several support groups which provide recipes and help patients adapt to the gluten-free diet.

The following terms found in food labels may mean that there is gluten in the product:

  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP) (unless made from soy or corn)
  • Flour or Cereal products (unless made with pure rice flour, corn flour, potato flour, or soy
    flour)
  • Vegetable Protein (unless made from soy or corn)
  • Malt or Malt Flavoring (unless derived from corn)
  • Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch (unless arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, waxy
    maize, or maize is used)
  • Vegetable Gum (unless vegetable gums are carob bean gum, locust bean gum, cellulose gum,
    guar gum, gum arabic, gum aracia, gum tragacanth, xanthan gum, or vegetable starch)
  • Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids (unless you know they do not contain wheat

Any of the following words on food labels usually means that a grain containing gluten has been used:

  • Stabilizer
  • Emulsifier
  • Starch
  • Hydrolized plant protein
  • Flavoring
  • Millet
Download this information

Included in the downloadable file is a list of common foods that do not contain gluten, separated by food group, to use as a guide to help you with your gluten-free diet.

If you have any questions, or would like to schedule an appointment, please call (877) 891-ENDO (3636), or fill out our online contact form here.